Assessment of information threats

Completed by: Stolitsa Social Research Agency 
 
Problem:
In the framework of analysis of the information field of an object in the presence of any information threats, it becomes necessary to assess these risks. ASIS specialists carried out an assessment of information threats following the example of construction of a TH (transport hub). Project implementation included the construction of more than 150 TH. Only the objects around which protest activity could begin or in which it was already present were used for monitoring.
 
Solution:
The main stages for assessing information threats:
  • Uploading messages and comments.
  • Assessment of the level of distribution and size of the audience.
  • Identifying and "cutting off" contrived (fake) activity.
  • Forecasts for development of the problem.
  • Content analysis of messages and comments.
  • Discourse analysis of initiated publications (on request or if necessary).
  • Preparing an information and analysis report based on uploading and evaluating messages on the requested object.
Based on the experience of working on social networks we can safely say that there is main protest activity and the formation of opposition groups. Therefore, if threats appear, special attention should be given to them.
 
Key features of the definition of information threats:
  • Efficiency. Information flows are constantly accelerating. Even 5 years ago, the information wave took an average of 1-2 weeks. Today information events spread in only a few hours and lose their relevance after 2-3 days. Therefore, an information threat must be identified in the first few minutes of its appearance in order to have time to react.
  • Initiators. A large number of sources (sites, blogs, groups in social networks) make it difficult to find the initiators and customers of the information attack. Without understanding the initiators and other initiators of threats, it is difficult to choose adequate response actions. Determining the sources and structure/scheme of information wave propagation allows for planning PR actions more accurately.
  • Development of the situation. As soon as an information threat appears, all publications and comments on this topic must be closely monitored.
 
Results:
Thanks to online monitoring, identification of initiative actors and groups, as well as sociological surveys, it was possible to identify the main points of conflict and disagreement between residents and developers. For some objects, it became possible to improve the attitude of the residents of the area to construction.
 
Advantages:
  • Effective definition of information threats;
  • Identification and assessment of information waves of the threat;
  • Identification of real demands and claims concerning the object;
  • Proposal for  alternative solutions to level information threats;
  • Monitoring of the facility at all stages of the development of information threats;
  • Evaluation of the spread of PR service activities in social networks and the blogosphere;
  • Forecasting the development of the situation after the company’s PR response.

Оценка информационных угроз

Заказчик: Инициативный мониторинговый проект

Исполнитель: Агентство социальных исследований «Столица»

 

Проблема:

В рамках анализа информационного поля какого либо объекта при наличии каких либо информационных угроз возникает необходимость в оценке данных рисков. Специалистами АСИС была проведена оценка информационных угроз на примере строительства ТПУ (транспортно-пересадочных узлов). Реализация проекта предусматривала строительство свыше 150 ТПУ. Для мониторинга были взяты только те объекты, вокруг которых могла начаться протестная активность, или в которых она уже присутствовала.
 

Решение:

Основные этапы для оценки информационных угроз:
- Выгрузка сообщений и комментариев.
- Оценка уровня распространения и размеров аудитории.
- Выявление и «отсечение» искусственной (фейковой) активности.
- Прогнозы развития проблемы.
- Контент-анализ сообщений и комментариев.
- Дискурс-анализ инициированных публикаций (по запросу или в случае необходимости).
- Составление информационно–аналитического отчета на основе выгрузки и оценки сообщений по запрашиваемому объекту.
Опираясь на опыт работы в социальных сетях можно смело заявить, что имеемо там и начинается основная протестная активность и формирование оппозиционных групп. Поэтому в случае формирование угроз особое внимание необходимо уделять именно им.
 
Ключевые особенности определения информационных угроз:
- Оперативность. Информационные потоки постоянно ускоряются. Ещё 5 лет назад информационная волна занимала в среднем 1-2 недели. Сегодня инфоповоды распространяются всего за несколько часов и теряют свою актуальность уже через 2-3 дня. Поэтому выявить информугрозу необходимо буквально в первые минуты появления, чтобы успеть среагировать. 
- Инициаторы. Большое число источников (сайты, блоги, группы в социальных сетях) затрудняют поиск инициаторов и заказчиков информационной атаки. Без понимания инициаторов и прочих инициаторов угроз сложно выбрать адекватные ответные действия. Определение источников и структуры/схемы распространения информационных волн позволяет более точно спланировать PR-мероприятия.
- Развитие ситуации. С момента появления информугрозы необходимо тщательно отслеживать все публикации и комментарии по данной теме.
 

Результаты:

Благодаря проведению оперативного мониторинга, выявления инициативных акторов и групп, совместно с проведением социологических опросов, удалось выявить основные точки конфликта и несогласия между жителями и застройщиками. По некоторым объектам удалось улучшить отношение жителей района к строительству.
 
Преимущества:
- Оперативность в определении информугроз;
- Выявление и оценка информационных волн по угрозе;
- Выявление реальных требовании и претензий по объекту;
- Предложение альтернативных путей решения для нивелирования информационных угроз;
- Мониторинг объекта на всех этапах формирования информугроз;
- Оценка распространения в социальных сетях и блогосфере работы PR-служб;
- Прогнозирование развития ситуации после ответной PR-компании.